IPython Documentation

Table Of Contents

Previous topic

About IPython

Next topic

History

This Page

Note

This documentation is for a development version of IPython. There may be significant differences from the latest stable release.

Credits

IPython was started and continues to be led by Fernando Pérez.

Core developers

As of this writing, core development team consists of the following developers:

  • Fernando Pérez <Fernando.Perez-AT-berkeley.edu> Project creator and leader, IPython core, parallel computing infrastructure, testing, release manager.
  • Robert Kern <rkern-AT-enthought.com> Co-mentored the 2005 Google Summer of Code project, work on IPython’s core.
  • Brian Granger <ellisonbg-AT-gmail.com> Parallel computing infrastructure, IPython core, IPython notebook.
  • Benjamin (Min) Ragan-Kelley <benjaminrk-AT-gmail.com> Parallel computing infrastructure, IPython core, IPython notebook.
  • Ville Vainio <vivainio-AT-gmail.com> IPython core, maintainer of IPython trunk from version 0.7.2 to 0.8.4.
  • Gael Varoquaux <gael.varoquaux-AT-normalesup.org> wxPython IPython GUI, frontend architecture.
  • Barry Wark <barrywark-AT-gmail.com> Cocoa GUI, frontend architecture.
  • Laurent Dufrechou <laurent.dufrechou-AT-gmail.com> wxPython IPython GUI.
  • Jörgen Stenarson <jorgen.stenarson-AT-bostream.nu> Maintainer of the PyReadline project, which is needed for IPython under windows.
  • Thomas Kluyver <takowl-AT-gmail.com> Port of IPython and its necessary ZeroMQ infrastructure to Python3, IPython core.
  • Evan Patterson <epatters-AT-enthought.com> Qt console frontend with ZeroMQ.
  • Paul Ivanov <pi-AT-berkeley.edu> IPython core, documentation.
  • Matthias Bussonnier <bussonniermatthias-AT-gmail.com> IPython notebook, nbviewer, nbconvert.
  • Julian Taylor <jtaylor.debian-AT-googlemail.com> IPython core, Debian packaging.
  • Brad Froehle <brad.froehle-AT-gmail.com> IPython core.

Special thanks

The IPython project is also very grateful to:

Bill Bumgarner <bbum-AT-friday.com>, for providing the DPyGetOpt module that IPython used for parsing command line options through version 0.10.

Ka-Ping Yee <ping-AT-lfw.org>, for providing the Itpl module for convenient and powerful string interpolation with a much nicer syntax than formatting through the ‘%’ operator.

Arnd Baecker <baecker-AT-physik.tu-dresden.de>, for his many very useful suggestions and comments, and lots of help with testing and documentation checking. Many of IPython’s newer features are a result of discussions with him.

Obviously Guido van Rossum and the whole Python development team, for creating a great language for interactive computing.

Fernando would also like to thank Stephen Figgins <fig-AT-monitor.net>, an O’Reilly Python editor. His October 11, 2001 article about IPP and LazyPython, was what got this project started. You can read it at http://www.onlamp.com/pub/a/python/2001/10/11/pythonnews.html.

Sponsors

We would like to thank the following entities which, at one point or another, have provided resources and support to IPython:

  • Enthought (http://www.enthought.com), for hosting IPython’s website and supporting the project in various ways over the years, including significant funding and resources in 2010 for the development of our modern ZeroMQ-based architecture and Qt console frontend.
  • Google, for supporting IPython through Summer of Code sponsorships in 2005 and 2010.
  • Microsoft Corporation, for funding in 2009 the development of documentation and examples of the Windows HPC Server 2008 support in IPython’s parallel computing tools.
  • The Nipy project (http://nipy.org) for funding in 2009 a significant refactoring of the entire project codebase that was key.
  • Ohio Supercomputer Center ( part of Ohio State University Research Foundation) and the Department of Defense High Performance Computing Modernization Program (HPCMP), for sponsoring work in 2009 on the ipcluster script used for starting IPython’s parallel computing processes, as well as the integration between IPython and the Vision environment (http://mgltools.scripps.edu/packages/vision). This project would not have been possible without the support and leadership of Jose Unpingco, from Ohio State.
  • Tech-X Corporation, for sponsoring a NASA SBIR project in 2008 on IPython’s distributed array and parallel computing capabilities.
  • Bivio Software (http://www.bivio.biz/bp/Intro), for hosting an IPython sprint in 2006 in addition to their support of the Front Range Pythoneers group in Boulder, CO.

Contributors

And last but not least, all the kind IPython contributors who have contributed new code, bug reports, fixes, comments and ideas. A brief list follows, please let us know if we have omitted your name by accident:

  • Mark Voorhies <mark.voorhies-AT-ucsf.edu> Printing support in Qt console.
  • Justin Riley <justin.t.riley-AT-gmail.com> Contributions to parallel support, Amazon EC2, Sun Grid Engine, documentation.
  • Satrajit Ghosh <satra-AT-mit.edu> parallel computing (SGE and much more).
  • Thomas Spura <tomspur-AT-fedoraproject.org> various fixes motivated by Fedora support.
  • Omar Andrés Zapata Mesa <andresete.chaos-AT-gmail.com> Google Summer of Code 2010, terminal support with ZeroMQ
  • Gerardo Gutierrez <muzgash-AT-gmail.com> Google Summer of Code 2010, Qt notebook frontend support with ZeroMQ.
  • Paul Ivanov <pivanov314-AT-gmail.com> multiline specials improvements.
  • Dav Clark <davclark-AT-berkeley.edu> traitlets improvements.
  • David Warde-Farley <wardefar-AT-iro.umontreal.ca> - bugfixes to %timeit, input autoindent management, and Qt console tooltips.
  • Darren Dale <dsdale24-AT-gmail.com>, traits-based configuration system, Qt support.
  • Jose Unpingco <unpingco@gmail.com> authored multiple tutorials and screencasts teaching the use of IPython both for interactive and parallel work (available in the documentation part of our website).
  • Dan Milstein <danmil-AT-comcast.net> A bold refactor of the core prefilter machinery in the IPython interpreter.
  • Jack Moffit <jack-AT-xiph.org> Bug fixes, including the infamous color problem. This bug alone caused many lost hours and frustration, many thanks to him for the fix. I’ve always been a fan of Ogg & friends, now I have one more reason to like these folks. Jack is also contributing with Debian packaging and many other things.
  • Alexander Schmolck <a.schmolck-AT-gmx.net> Emacs work, bug reports, bug fixes, ideas, lots more. The ipython.el mode for (X)Emacs is Alex’s code, providing full support for IPython under (X)Emacs.
  • Andrea Riciputi <andrea.riciputi-AT-libero.it> Mac OSX information, Fink package management.
  • Gary Bishop <gb-AT-cs.unc.edu> Bug reports, and patches to work around the exception handling idiosyncracies of WxPython. Readline and color support for Windows.
  • Jeffrey Collins <Jeff.Collins-AT-vexcel.com>. Bug reports. Much improved readline support, including fixes for Python 2.3.
  • Dryice Liu <dryice-AT-liu.com.cn> FreeBSD port.
  • Mike Heeter <korora-AT-SDF.LONESTAR.ORG>
  • Christopher Hart <hart-AT-caltech.edu> PDB integration.
  • Milan Zamazal <pdm-AT-zamazal.org> Emacs info.
  • Philip Hisley <compsys-AT-starpower.net>
  • Holger Krekel <pyth-AT-devel.trillke.net> Tab completion, lots more.
  • Robin Siebler <robinsiebler-AT-starband.net>
  • Ralf Ahlbrink <ralf_ahlbrink-AT-web.de>
  • Thorsten Kampe <thorsten-AT-thorstenkampe.de>
  • Fredrik Kant <fredrik.kant-AT-front.com> Windows setup.
  • Syver Enstad <syver-en-AT-online.no> Windows setup.
  • Richard <rxe-AT-renre-europe.com> Global embedding.
  • Hayden Callow <h.callow-AT-elec.canterbury.ac.nz> Gnuplot.py 1.6 compatibility.
  • Leonardo Santagada <retype-AT-terra.com.br> Fixes for Windows installation.
  • Christopher Armstrong <radix-AT-twistedmatrix.com> Bugfixes.
  • Francois Pinard <pinard-AT-iro.umontreal.ca> Code and documentation fixes.
  • Cory Dodt <cdodt-AT-fcoe.k12.ca.us> Bug reports and Windows ideas. Patches for Windows installer.
  • Olivier Aubert <oaubert-AT-bat710.univ-lyon1.fr> New magics.
  • King C. Shu <kingshu-AT-myrealbox.com> Autoindent patch.
  • Chris Drexler <chris-AT-ac-drexler.de> Readline packages for Win32/CygWin.
  • Gustavo Cordova Avila <gcordova-AT-sismex.com> EvalDict code for nice, lightweight string interpolation.
  • Kasper Souren <Kasper.Souren-AT-ircam.fr> Bug reports, ideas.
  • Gever Tulley <gever-AT-helium.com> Code contributions.
  • Ralf Schmitt <ralf-AT-brainbot.com> Bug reports & fixes.
  • Oliver Sander <osander-AT-gmx.de> Bug reports.
  • Rod Holland <rhh-AT-structurelabs.com> Bug reports and fixes to logging module.
  • Daniel ‘Dang’ Griffith <pythondev-dang-AT-lazytwinacres.net> Fixes, enhancement suggestions for system shell use.
  • Viktor Ransmayr <viktor.ransmayr-AT-t-online.de> Tests and reports on Windows installation issues. Contributed a true Windows binary installer.
  • Mike Salib <msalib-AT-mit.edu> Help fixing a subtle bug related to traceback printing.
  • W.J. van der Laan <gnufnork-AT-hetdigitalegat.nl> Bash-like prompt specials.
  • Antoon Pardon <Antoon.Pardon-AT-rece.vub.ac.be> Critical fix for the multithreaded IPython.
  • John Hunter <jdhunter-AT-nitace.bsd.uchicago.edu> Matplotlib author, helped with all the development of support for matplotlib in IPython, including making necessary changes to matplotlib itself.
  • Matthew Arnison <maffew-AT-cat.org.au> Bug reports, ‘%run -d’ idea.
  • Prabhu Ramachandran <prabhu_r-AT-users.sourceforge.net> Help with (X)Emacs support, threading patches, ideas...
  • Norbert Tretkowski <tretkowski-AT-inittab.de> help with Debian packaging and distribution.
  • George Sakkis <gsakkis-AT-eden.rutgers.edu> New matcher for tab-completing named arguments of user-defined functions.
  • Jörgen Stenarson <jorgen.stenarson-AT-bostream.nu> Wildcard support implementation for searching namespaces.
  • Vivian De Smedt <vivian-AT-vdesmedt.com> Debugger enhancements, so that when pdb is activated from within IPython, coloring, tab completion and other features continue to work seamlessly.
  • Scott Tsai <scottt958-AT-yahoo.com.tw> Support for automatic editor invocation on syntax errors (see http://www.scipy.net/roundup/ipython/issue36).
  • Alexander Belchenko <bialix-AT-ukr.net> Improvements for win32 paging system.
  • Will Maier <willmaier-AT-ml1.net> Official OpenBSD port.
  • Ondrej Certik <ondrej-AT-certik.cz> Set up the IPython docs to use the new Sphinx system used by Python, Matplotlib and many more projects.
  • Stefan van der Walt <stefan-AT-sun.ac.za> Design and prototype of the Traits based config system.